In recognition of those of our supporters who have provided exceptional service to Interplast over the longer term, in 2016 Interplast established the award of Honoured Member. This recognition is designed to promote the accomplishments of distinguished supporters to the wider Interplast community and to formalise an ongoing relationship with these valued individuals.

Nominations are invited each year to help recognise exceptional Interplast individuals for their years of extraordinary service through the provision of their time and talents.

Mr& Mrs John and Judy Berends

  • Long term supporters have made a significant contributions to Interplast, largely through the Rotary Club of Seaford-Carrum Downs.
  • Have organised district wide fundraising events for Interplast and have also personally donated.
  • Have participated as observers on programs. John and Judy both went to Labasa, Fiji in 2006, and Judy to Tonga in 2012.

Mr Simon Donahoe

  • Surgeon
  • First volunteered in 2004, has been on 23 programs to Fiji, Samoa, and regularly to PNG
  • Country Coordinator for PNG until his resignation in 2018
  • Presented for Interplast at various Rotary events
  • Regular faculty for the Pacific Island reconstructive surgical workshops held in Hobart and Suva.
  • Played a huge leadership role in supporting plastic surgery training in PNG including long term support and mentoring of PNG trainees, both in Australia and in PNG.
  • Led the development of PNG’s first plastic surgery curriculum.

Associate Professor Peter Haertsch AM

  • First trip in 1987 to Goroka, Papua New Guinea
  • Completed 47 programs to 13 countries with Interplast- some years Peter participated in two or three programs a year
  • Participated in programs at short notice
  • Regularly participates in surgical programs to Philippines, as well as capacity building programs, largely around burns development.
  • Has fundrasied for Interplast and spoken at Rotary events and conferences
  • Peter encouraged Turia Pitt to become involved with Interplast. He was also involved in the 60 Minutes TV special with Turia and Interplast.

Mrs Deirdre McGlynn

  • Nurse, first volunteered in 1990 to Solomon Islands
  • Has participated in 29 programs to countries including Vanuatu, Kiribati, Samoa, Philippines and Myanmar.
  • Participated in needs assessments /support programs to Philippines and Myanmar
  • In Cagayan de Oro, she established relationships with University Nursing Faculties. Taught local nurses and students theatre sterile processes and mentored the nurse educators that accompanied them.
  • Financially supported getting patients & their families to CDO and helping with the costs of their stay for treatment via Rotary.

Ms Kay Suter

  • Nurse, first volunteered in 2005, has been on 11 programs to countries including Vanuatu, Fiji and more regularly to PNG
  • Has participated in programs on short notice
  • Long term commitment to developing nurse capacity in PNG, in particular Mt Hagen and Madang
  • Significant effort put into teaching & educational resources in PNG, particularly in the areas of sterilisation, infection control and hand hygiene.
  • Provided significant support in setting up infection prevention control policies and practices in Madang.
  • Retired as a volunteer at the end of 2018
  • Help to raise awareness in her hometown in Tasmania.

Dr Shankar Rai – Nepal

  • Director of Kirtipur Hospital in Nepal
  • Championed the development of plastic and reconstructive surgery in Nepal and across the region, in particular microsurgery
  • Has been the backbone of Interplast activities in Nepal since they commenced in 2006 and continues to support the development of the program
  • Established the first Hand and Microsurgery Fellowship training in Nepal (prior to this, Nepali surgeons has to train overseas)
  • Has been a pioneer and champion for burns care in Nepal, both in service delivery, advocacy, resources and training
  • Established the burns unit at Model Hospital and the Nepal Cleft and Burns Centre (Kirtipur Hospital)
  • Worked with Interplast following the 2015 earthquakes in Kathmandu to provide local post-disaster surgical support.

Professor Moe Thuzar – Myanmar

  • Head of Department of Plastic, Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery at Yangon General Hospital
  • Has been involved with Interplast programs since they commenced in Myanmar in 2000 (as senior practising plastic surgeon), and in a significant leadership role since 2013, when they resumed after a brief hiatus, as, at that time, she had become Head of Unit
  • Has been a champion for Interplast programs, and for establishing both a Masters and Doctorate of Plastic Surgery in Myanmar
  • Has championed the status of women in surgery in Myanmar, and has built a plastic surgical cohort which includes a number of women, in both junior and leadership positions
  • Lead the transition of Interplast programs in Myanmar from a primarily service-provision program to one which focuses on training and mentoring- including expanding the surgical training to include nurses and anaesthetists.
  • Plays a key role liaising between Interplast and Yangon General Hospital, Ministry of Health and University of Medicine 1, Yangon.

2018 Honoured Members

  • Mrs Catherine Gorr OAM
  • Dr Chris Lowry
  • Ms Turia Pitt
  • Mr Randall Sach
  • Mr Stephen Weychan

Read about our 2018 Honoured Members here.


2017 Honoured Members

  • Mr Chris Bennett
  • Mr Len Brear
  • Ms Gillian Dickinson
  • Ms Angela Doherty
  • Mr David Inglis
  • Mr Peter Keast
  • Dr John Oswald

Read about our 2017 Honoured Members here.


2016 Honored Members

  • PDG John Barnes
  • Mr Ian Carlisle
  • Mr Russell Corlett
  • Mr Allan Meares
  • The Hon. Dr Kay Patterson
  • Ms Jan Rice
  • Mr Ross Sutton

Read about our 2016 Honoured Members here.

If you would like to nominate an individual for the Honoured Member award, please email us, at